What about WCM (and BPM, etc.)?

24Feb09

In the peer-review process of the model, some of our readers thought our definition of ECM was too narrow.  To quote from the document:

For the purposes of this model, we focus on the commonly understood scope of ECM as concerning principally document and records management, along with associated services and processes like imaging, workflow, and archiving, among others.  The model does not directly concern itself with Web Content Management (WCM) and related, publishing-oriented disciplines, although some of the concepts below apply to those programs as well.  Similarly, the model does not address data-oriented information management, such as Business Intelligence and Data Warehousing.

In theory, much in this document could pertain to cognate disciplines in the information management universe, but at that point, we thought it would get too abstract and lose its practicality.  (Erik Hartman, one of the participants in this effort, is working on a broader “Information Management Framework.”)  If the past eight years — since the term ECM came into vogue — have taught us anything, it is that enterprise document management and web publishing are two very different (albeit related) practices.  At some point, it might be worth putting together a WCM Maturity Model.  And as you might know, there are already several different BPM maturity models.

But, first things first.  Let’s tackle what is already an enormous problem set, in ECM.



35 Responses to “What about WCM (and BPM, etc.)?”

  1. First of all my compliments for this great work and fantastic initiative.

    I do however have a remark about the post above. I can understand you need to find the balance between the right level of abstraction and practicality. WCM is more about publishing whereas DM and RM are more focussed on internal business processes.

    Having said that, RM and DM can just as well be regarded as disciplines on their own. They have their own specific uses and techniques. And what about Knowledge Management, Collaboration, Search and Social Networks. They’re all related to unstructured information (content). I thinkit’s a slippery slope discussion to include or exclude any of these solutions in an generic ECM Model.

    All these different disciplines share a number of techniques, processes and implementation guidelines (best practices), but they also have there own specific best practices. And to make matters even more interesting (or worse as you please), emerging ECM solutions tend to be a blend of different types of content management solutions. A DM platform can offer collaboration and BI functions, a KM solution can offer federated search and so on.

    So, although I’m a big fan of the ECM maturity model, it seems a little bit arbitrary to me pick just DM and RM and put them on an ECM island. I do think that a few specific guidelines and remarks for specific ECM solutions would actually make the model more practical. This is the way I approach this issue right now while working on a new version of the Dutch Content Management Methodology called COMET.

  2. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was wondering what all is required to get setup? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a
    pretty penny? I’m not very web smart so I’m not 100% positive.
    Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Kudos

  3. Greate article. Keep writing such kind of information
    on your page. Im really impressed by your site.
    Hi there, You’ve performed a great job. I’ll certainly digg it and
    in my opinion recommend to my friends. I am sure they will be benefited from this
    website.

  4. Great beat ! I wish to apprentice even as you amend your website, how can i subscribe for a blog web site?
    The account helped me a appropriate deal. I had been tiny bit familiar of this your broadcast offered vivid clear idea

  5. Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve been to your blog before but after
    going through some of the posts I realized
    it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m certainly pleased I discovered
    it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back regularly!

  6. After I initiaally left a comment I appear to have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and nnow every time a comment is added I recieve four emails with the same
    comment. There hass to be a way you are able to
    remove me from that service? Appreciate it!

  7. I almost never leave a response, but i did a few searching and
    wound up here What about WCM (and BPM, etc.)?
    | ECM Maturity Model. And I actually do have a couple of questions for you if it’s allright.
    Could it be simply me or does it look ass if like some of the remarks appear
    like they are coming from brain dead individuals? 😛 And, iff you are posting at
    additional places, I’d like to follow anything new
    you have to post. Could you make a list of the complete urls of your social sites like your twitter feed, Facebook
    page or linkedin profile?

  8. Unquestionably believe that which you said.

    Your favorite justification seemed to be on the internet the simplest thing to be aware of.

    I say to you, I certainly get irked while people think about
    worries that they plainly do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole
    thing without having side effect , people could take a signal.
    Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

  9. I read this piece of writing fully about the difference of newest and earlier technologies, it’s
    awesome article.

  10. I visited various sites however the audio feature for audio songs present at
    this website is truly wonderful.

  11. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your blog.

    It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come here and visit more often.

    Did you hire out a designer to create your theme?
    Exceptional work!

  12. With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into any issues of plagorism
    or copyright violation? My site has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either written myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my agreement.
    Do you know any solutions to help stop content from being ripped off?
    I’d truly appreciate it.

  13. I’m gone to inform my little brother, that he should also
    pay a visit this weblog on regular basis to get updated
    from latest reports.

  14. This sort of guess should generally equate on the size
    of the pot, and really should be practiced only if the expectation that all others
    will flip is over half. You can read articles to understand poker or watch a video that could tech
    You that driving lesson. All the action starts again with the small blind and everyone left has the option to call, raise or
    fold.

  15. Great post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed!
    Very helpful info particularly the last part 🙂 I care for such
    information much. I was seeking this particular information for a
    long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  16. Unquestionably believe that which you said. Your favourite
    justification appeared to be at the net the simplest
    factor to be mindful of. I say to you, I certainly get irked while other
    people consider concerns that they just do not know about.

    You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out
    the entire thing with no need side-effects , people could take a signal.
    Will probably be again to get more. Thank you

  17. hello there and thank you for your information – I have certainly picked up anything new from right here.
    I did however expertise several technical issues using this site, as I experienced to reload the web site many times previous to I could get it to load properly.

    I had been wondering if your web host is OK? Not that I
    am complaining, but slow loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and
    can damage your high quality score if ads and
    marketing with Adwords. Well I’m adding this RSS to my
    email and can look out for a lot more of your respective fascinating content.

    Make sure you update this again very soon.

  18. Hi, I check your blog on a regular basis.
    Your writing style is awesome, keep doing what you’re doing!

  19. They will not receive enough compensation, but it is still true, 80 years later.

    Corollary payments that are in Los Angeles car accident lawyer PA to represent your case because they didn t take the time of year.
    Then just think how scary the figure of the biggest stressors any adult will ever face.

  20. Right now it appears like Movable Type is the preferred blogging platform
    out there right now. (from what I’ve read) Is that what you are using on your blog?

  21. With havin so much content do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright infringement?
    My blog has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either authored myself or outsourced
    but it seems a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my permission. Do you know
    any solutions to help reduce content from being stolen? I’d certainly appreciate it.

  22. Great blog! Do you have any tips and hints for aspiring
    writers? I’m hoping to start my own blog soon but I’m
    a little lost on everything. Would you recommend starting with a free platform
    like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out
    there that I’m completely overwhelmed .. Any tips? Thank you!

  23. The one way to start seeing their discretionary income to spend hours
    hold em heads up strategy in them. So far he’s on a
    supposedly lucky day for you. Barbara Ann
    Hamel walked into the cussing rule is racial slurs.

    He cites studies that estimate the project would
    equal five years ago. ProsPlay Anytime, Don’t need internet connection hold em heads up strategy to Transfer tokens,
    a $7. The best way to get the most common of bonus is a part of the city.

  24. There is certainly a lot to find out about this issue.
    I really like all of the points you made.

  25. This design is steller! You certainly know how to keep a reader
    amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Wonderful job.

    I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that,
    how you presented it. Too cool!

  26. Greetings I am so happy I found your weblog, I really found you
    by mistake, while I was searching on Digg for something else,
    Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say thank you for a fantastic post and
    a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the moment but I have saved
    it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back
    to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the fantastic job.

  27. Do you have a spam problem on this website; I also am a
    blogger, and I was curious about your situation;
    we have created some nice practices and we are looking to exchange strategies with
    other folks, please shoot me an e-mail if interested.

  28. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both
    educative and engaging, and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head.
    The issue is something which not enough men and women are speaking intelligently about.
    Now i’m very happy I came across this in my hunt for something concerning this.

  29. It is not my first time to pay a visit this website, i
    am visiting this website dailly and get good data from here every day.

  30. Great post. I was checking constantly this blog and I
    am impressed! Extremely helpful information specifically the
    last part 🙂 I care for such info much. I was seeking this particular info for a long time.
    Thank you and good luck.

  31. constantly i used to read smaller articles which also clear their
    motive, and that is also happening with this post which I am
    reading now.

  32. I have fun with, result in I found exactly what I used
    to be having a look for. You’ve ended my 4 day long hunt!
    God Bless you man. Have a nice day. Bye

  33. Very descriptive post, I liked that a lot. Will there be a part
    2?

  34. Hi there all, here every one is sharing these knowledge, thus it’s pleasant to read this
    blog, and I used to pay a quick visit this webpage all the time.

  35. I am really loving the theme/design of your blog. Do you ever run into
    any web browser compatibility issues? A handful of my blog visitors have complained about my
    blog not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Safari.
    Do you have any recommendations to help fix this issue?


Leave a Reply

